Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Christian martyr

Today is the 70th anniversary of the death of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, executed by the Nazis towards the end of World War 2. In “The Cost of Discipleship” he wrote, ‘Jesus is the only significance. Beside Jesus nothing has any significance. He alone matters.’
I first encountered Bonhoeffer when I was doing my theological training in the 1970’s.  Had never heard of him before, he was outside the orbit of my evangelical connections of that time.  But I was deeply impacted by his book The Cost of Discipleship and have revered him ever since.  Apart from his faith he was, to me, an incredibly brave man who was prepared to face down evil even at the cost of his life. A true martyr, and a shining witness.Bonhoeffer
Bonhoeffer’s life and teaching has had a huge impact on many of us, and I thank God for his insights, courage and faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

